Motion Knowledge Base
Ask or search…
K

Generate Message Explained

Scheduling with Generate Message

Motion's Generate Message feature streamlines the creation of a one-time link with a pre-defined message that reflects your availability for a chosen date or date range. Using a message template and customizable variables saves you time and simplifies communication with recipients.

Steps to Use Generate Message

  1. 1.
    Go to the ‘Booking’ tab.
  2. 2.
    Locate the booking link you want to use.
  3. 3.
    Click the ‘Generate message’ button for that booking link.
  4. 4.
    Set availability parameters and other details.
  5. 5.
    Click ‘Copy message.’
  6. 6.
    Paste the message on the body of your email or any messaging platform.
  7. 7.
    Send it to your guest.
  8. 8.
    They will be able to book a meeting from your message.

Walkthrough

Real-Life Scenario

As a busy professional who frequently schedules meetings with clients and colleagues, you often find yourself spending a significant amount of time composing and sending meeting invitations, including all the necessary details like date, time, and location.
Let's say you need to schedule a meeting with a potential client. Instead of manually typing out your availability, you can simply head to ‘Booking’ open the ‘Generate message window’, and generate a pre-filled message. Paste the message into your email and send it to the client. The client then receives a neatly formatted message that comes with a personalized booking page.

Generate Message vs Drag Times

Generate Message enables you to select specific dates or a date range and auto-fill a template with your availability, ideal for one-time meetings.
Conversely, Drag Times lets you manually pick open slots on your calendar, perfect for one-on-one meetings.
Both features enhance meeting scheduling with personalized booking pages. With Generate Message, you can skip checking your Motion calendar and manually choosing open time slots.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • No. It’s one-time-use only i.e. if someone already booked a meeting using the link, other people who have access to it won’t be able to use it anymore. If you want a multi-use link, you can opt for traditional booking links or Drag Times.

Can I change the default template?

  • Yes, you can do so in via Settings > Booking. Check this article for more information.